RSS

Chicken & Yellow Squash Bake

04 Sep

For many years now I have had a few cooking magazines to which I am a faithful subscriber. Each month I look forward to my opening the mailbox and finding the latest copy of my culinary-inspiring reading material. It’s kind of like a birthday present to me every month! Yes, I really do get quite excited when there is a new magazine in the mail. Last year I was introduced to a new (to me) periodical, Clean Eating. This is a stellar publication and I would actually give up my other subscriptions in order to have this one. I am always trying to find ways to keep all of the flavor & texture in a dish while removing the ingredients that are less desirable and not good for our bodies. This magazine provides just that, page after page you will find delicious and healthy recipes! I found the recipe for this “Healthy Squash & Chicken Casserole’ in the Jan/Feb 2010 edition of Clean Eating, I made it exactly as the recipe called and it was good. I am a big fan of onions, squash & chicken so this dish was calling my name. I wanted to revamp the recipe to better suit my taste, and when I did I knew I had found a keeper that I would enjoy often.

The next time I make this casserole, I think I will add some mushrooms, red bell pepper, and maybe even top it off with some freshly diced tomatoes or sour cream. Let me know what you do to the dish!

Chicken & Yellow Squash Bake

INGREDIENTS
10 slices whole-wheat bread
Olive oil cooking spray & 3 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 large yellow onion, thinly sliced
4 medium yellow squash, thinly sliced (about 4 1/2 cups)
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, pounded to 1/4 to 1/2 thickness and cubed
11/2 cup pre-shredded low-fat mozzarella
2 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
Sea salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS
Cut bread into cubes, then spread out onto a cookie sheet and let air-dry overnight. (If you do not wish to dry the bread, toast it instead in an oven for 10 minutes at 350F.)

Preheat oven to 350F.

Heat large nonstick or cast-iron skillet over high heat for 1 minute. Reduce heat to medium-low, mist with cooking spray and add onion. Sauté for about 8 minutes or until caramelized. Add squash and garlic. Mist with more cooking spray, if needed, and sauté until cooked, about 5 more minutes. Remove vegetables from pan. Mist pan with cooking spray again and cook chicken until golden brown on each side, about 2 to 3 minutes total.

In a large bowl, mix together cooked vegetables, chicken, olive oil, and bread cubes. Mix in mozzarella, seasoning, salt and pepper. Pour mixture into an 8-cup casserole dish and bake for 20 minutes, or until cheese is melted and casserole is lightly browned on top.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 4, 2011 in Casserole, Chicken, Veggies

 

Leave a Reply

 
