RSS

Banana Blueberry Muffins

16 Sep

As a child growing up, I can still remember waking up to the smell of blueberry muffins baking away in the kitchen. It was definitely one of my favorites! I must admit, I always made an attempt to choose the one with the most berries, before my sisters had an opportunity to. Oh those were the simple times…

There are several foods in our home that do not know seasons. Blueberry’s and bananas are two of them. You will find these scrumptious fruits in my kitchen everyday of the year. I always try to keep both, bananas and blueberries, in the freezer for my kiddos, who love to make smoothies with them. Meanwhile, I like to keep them on hand for mid-morning muffins and quick breads. Who doesn’t like to indulge in a sweet, delicious muffin full of fruit, when it is still warm from the oven? I know that I cannot resist!

For many, many years now I have used the same recipe for my banana muffins. All of the variations to the muffin are just that, an addition to my trusty recipe. This is a recipe that is worthy of change. I do believe I have a new banana muffin recipe that will replace my old staple. I have yet to try switching up the blueberries with the various other combinations such as chocolate chips, pecans, walnuts, etc… but I do belive that this recipe will be just as adaptable as my ol’ faithful.

I discovered this recipe online while checking out other blogs,and it called my name. The origin of these must-try muffins comes from a hotel in Washington, The Weinhard Hotel and was shared by the ladies from http://www.fullforkahead.com/  take a moment to check out their wonderful dishes!

  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks), room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 6 ripe bananas
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 12-count muffin pans with liners or spray with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl, mash the bananas. Whisk or stir in the eggs, butter and vanilla. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the sugar, flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add to the wet ingredients and stir till combined, making sure all flour on the bottom of the bowl gets incorporated.

This batter is thick, do not overmix. You will end up with tough muffins 🙂

Fold in the frozen blueberries (yes, make sure they stay frozen, it helps them to not settle to the bottom of the muffin well). Spoon enough batter into each muffin well to fill it just to the top. Bake for 30 minutes or until starting to turn golden brown. Place pan on a rack till muffins are cool enough to handle, then remove them to cool further. Serve warm with a small pat of butter, enjoy with your coffee or however you prefer.

This recipe was adapted from www.fullforkahead.com and originally from The Weinhard Hotel.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
