RSS

Spiced Pumpkin Bread

11 Oct

I hope everyone is enjoying the kickoff to this Fall season! I know the miniscule drop in the  humidity has made a noticeable difference here in SW Florida. There still are not any weather predictions that would call for a jacket (or even sweater for that matter) however,  I am wishful that cooler temps are soon to come. Fall is probably the most welcomed seasoned of all for me. After the long, hot summer days and nights that bring along with it stifling heat that will literally take your breath away and humidity that makes you feel as if you are living in a giant sauna, the cool air and drop in humidity are as anxiously awaited here in the south. I am sure the warmth of the summer months are as embraced in the north as the fall and winter are in the south. One of these years I am going to spend Autumn somewhere that the leaves change colors! Several years ago I was able to spend two and a half days in Indiana (for the Patriots – Colts game) during November, and I fell in love with the leaves. I know that is probably quite goofy to those of you who live somewhere that actually has seasons. You might even think of the leaves as a chore, I hear you have to rake and bag them all up…

So any ways, I am trying to bring as much of the season into our home with pumpkin, winter squash and apples in as many of our meals and snacks as I can. This is a bread that I have been making since 2001 and, I plan on making it until I am not longer capable. Back then I worked in a small office. It was just the couple who owned the business and myself in a small room. Our desks practically touched. Debbie, the lady I worked for, came walking in the Wednesday morning before Thanksgiving break bearing these littles loaves of bread, all wrapped up nicely as a gift. If I recall correctly, she gave me four. One for me, one for my parents, and one for each of my girls. Embarrassingly, I think I left that day with only one loaf. I could not stop eating this bread. It is so unbelievably delicious! I must have made really big impression on her, with my bread consumption. The following month I received a cookbook (Gulfshore Delights, 1984) from her for Christmas. On the inside cover she had jotted me a note that read, “This has the recipe for pumpkin bread – plus many other dishes I think you will enjoy. There is even a recipe in this book I submitted. Can you guess which one? I bought two of these books many years ago and I saved it for just the right person. Forever, Deb”  How sweet! I never actually found out if her recipe was the pumpkin bread, but it must be right?

Treat yourself, and someone else for that matter, and make this bread. It isn’t in any way spicy, just bursting full of flavor! And, it is a one bowl bread recipe! That means it is super easy to throw together and just as simple to clean up. I baked it in 4 mini loaf pans this go-round just adjust your baking time accordingly, until a toothpick comes out clean. I filled each pan with one cup of batter. For two of the loaves I sprinkled chopped walnuts on the top before baking. That is strictly a matter of preference. I like that crunch that the nuts add to the bread.

Spicy Pumpkin Bread

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoons ground cloves
  • 2 teaspoons nutmeg
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1 2/3 cup sifted all-purpose flour (I have made this bread several times in a hurry without sifting and it turned out great, but if you have time sift. It produces a lighter more consistent bread)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Mix all ingredients. Pour into a greased 5×9″ loaf pan. Bake 1 1/2 hours. For four mini loaf pans and bake for about 35 – 40 minutes.
 
 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Spiced Pumpkin Bread

  1. Mom

    October 12, 2011 at 7:00 am

    I can smell this from here. Can I have a slice?

     
  2. sarah

    October 12, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Looks good let me know the next time you preheat and I will head over

     

Leave a Reply

 
